Locks of Love

One of the things I’ve been trying to focus on in the run-up to surgery is that I’m fortunate to have a problem that has a solution, a problem that can be fixed. Many people aren’t so lucky.

Therefore, I decided that since I’m getting help, I should help someone else. Sort of a pay it forward thing, if you will. In that spirit, today this happened…

One 10 inch ponytail, coming right up!

I decided to donate my hair to Locks of Love.

As many of you know, my godmother passed from pancreatic cancer last fall. And in her last months, she was a big wig customer. She had at least three of them, maybe more. It turns out that it takes 6 to 10 ponytails to make just one wig! I can’t imagine losing my hair for any reason, let alone due to poison coursing through my veins. So if some of my hair can make any sort of a difference in someone else’s life, cut away.

And that’s exactly what my hairdresser did!

It wasn’t easy to cut through it all.

A few more cuts and it was free.

It’s like a furry little friend.

But I couldn’t just go around looking like THAT, so then it was time for a proper haircut.

Haircut action shot #1.

Haircut action shot #2.

Before the big reveal, lets just remind ourselves what we were dealing with:

Before.

Drum roll please…

After.

Thanks to my amazing hairdresser Robbie for such a great job! I’m diggin’ my new do and now I can check “get hair did” off my to-do list before surgery. 😉

Aforementioned amazing Robbie.

7 comments

  1. Steph

    Well done!! You look great and it’s for such a good cause 🙂

  2. Steph

    Well done!! You look great and it’s for such a good cause 🙂 xxxx

  3. Steph

    Oops didn’t mean to post twice but I’d forgotten to send you some lovin on the first one xxxxxxx

  4. You look lovely before and after!!

  5. Lee Lee Robinson

    Love the new hair-do!!! You look great Sumsie!! And I bet it will be so easy to take care of after your surgery!
    oxoxox Lee Lee

  6. Nancy

    I love the new look!

  7. A. Soto

    In the 25+ years that I’ve known you, I can’t remember you not having super long hair, and I’ve always loved it – but I have to say, I may love this lenght more!

Comments are closed.

