Message from your heart

I got this album by Kina Grannis last fall and had it on repeat for many a week at one time. You may know Kina from her 1000’s of jellybeans video, but the entire album is worth listening to if you go for the singer/songwriter vibe.

This particular song resonated with me, even before my diagnosis, so I just thought I’d share. Lyrics are posted after the video.



Don’t break me, I bruise easily
The source of both, your love and misery
I am steady, beating endlessly
While you are dozing, dreaming pretty things

I don’t work for free
Please take care of me

This is a message from your heart
Your most devoted body part
Taking blood and making art

This is a message from your heart
Pounding away into the dark
You could thank me for a start
This is a message from your heart

Don’t hurt me, I bleed constantly
My efforts leave me but flow back swiftly
My rhythm soothing, like raindrops steady
On foggy windows while you gaze outwardly

I don’t work for free
Please take care of me

This is a message from your heart
Your most devoted body part
Taking blood and making art

This is a message from your heart
Pounding away into the dark
You could thank me for a start
This is a message from your heart

2 comments

  1. Lee Lee

    Beautiful lyrics. We are gearing up to return to KV for Mom’s Memorial on Monday. Thinking of you and knowing JAW is looking down on us. oxox Lee Lee

  2. Laura Fulton

    Hey girl!

    What address should I come to on Tuesday? Are you up for talking on the phone?

Comments are closed.

