Lists

I was just thinking about how far I’ve come and how much farther I have to go. It’s been 17 days since surgery and here are two lists for your edification and amusement.

Things I still can’t do by myself:

  • open the refrigerator door
  • sleep more than an hour or two at a time
  • open childproof bottles (i.e., all of my medication)
  • dress myself
  • brush my hair
  • lift my laptop
  • pick up anything off the floor

Things that are saving my life:

  • Shake Shack
  • Percocet
  • bendy straws
  • Gatorade
  • Prune juice
  • pillows, pillows, and more pillows
  • the outpouring of love and support from you guys
6 comments

  1. Katy Mathias

    Go Summer Go!

  2. Kerstin

    You also have retained your super power for picking the perfect B’day card, even when hopped up on percoset. ❤ This is turning out to be a very long, hard road. You are in my thoughts CONSTANTLY. Many hugs and support. There will be a day when you realize you've really turned a corner, but for now just keep doin' the baby step thing girl. I know you'll get there. ❤ #thumpthump

  3. afamiglietti

    On the upside, Percoset + Mars Landing sounds like a kinda fun party! 🙂

  4. Penny Saffer

    Thinking of you – and yore ole Ma who I know is an excellent nurse! Keep the faith and don’t try to outwit your body. . .one day at a time! XXX

  5. I once fell off a roof and had emergency surgery followed by a long, slow recovery. I remember the gatorade, and the pillows, and the total reliance on others to help me with the most basic tasks.

    Every day you’ll get stronger. Before you know it, you will have a day when you forget that you ever had surgery.

    Be well! And thanks for sharing your amazing story!

Thoughts?

